Uncategorized

[Final update] as a translator. So, I guess this is goodbye.

The title might have already given away the message, but I’d still like to say it outright to make things clear:

I will stop translating novels for good.

Yes, that’s right. From today onwards, I will no longer be translating novels anymore.
Following this decision, I will also be taking down all chapters of my translations of the two novels, So What If You’ve Been Reborn and Palace Full of Delicacies. We’re not going to take any chances on this one. There’s nothing I can do about the copies floating around on aggregator sites, but I can at least do my part for my own site.
I will stop giving out the password once it hits midnight on 31 January, and once it hits midnight for PST (UTC-8), I will start taking down all the chapters of my two translations, along with their associated pages. Countdowns have been added; they’re on the right-hand sidebar if you’re on desktop, at the bottom if you’re on mobile.

As for those who received my permission to re-translate into another language, it’s your decision whether or not you want to keep yours posted. I don’t know what the translation scenes outside of CN-EN are like, but I hope you guys will be fine in these trying times, stay strong everyone.

Now that we’ve gotten over those bits, here’s what I’d like to say to you, the readers

To the older readers, including those who have been reading (and following) since the earlier days of this site—thank you for putting up with me for so long. It’s been nearly four years since I started this, and while I haven’t exactly been the best at keeping promises (:’D) or putting out consistent updates, there were still some of you waiting for me to come back. There’s no way I can make up for that now, all I can say is, thank you for waiting and believing that I’d come back in those times.

To the much newer readers who popped up only after the mass chapter lock—I thank you too, for still wanting to come and read the translations, for coming to me to get the password. I think that goes to show just how much you wanted to read these translations…Well, I still cringe when I think about the earliest chapters, because my current self can definitely do better than that. Heck, I was planning to redo the earliest chapters and change all of them to the newer redone versions instead, but that plan got nipped in the bud after I found out about JJWXC’s thing with the international site. (Sorry that you guys only ever got to see the crusty old version…)

Then there’s also what I wanna say…

Looking back…Man, it’s been so long since I started. SWIYBR, the novel that I started with, had its first chapter posted on April 16 2018, almost 4 years ago. PFoD’s first chapter was posted on June 23 2018, which also happened to be my birthday! (Also almost 4 years ago.) And it’s all come to an end. Wasn’t the smoothest path, but it sure as hell was fun.
As of now, this site has 646 followers—an amazing number that I never expected to achieve, but I fully expect this number to be reduced by at least 75% after this post goes up. Can’t force anyone to stay after all that’s happened, after all.

Honestly, it does feel sad to have to trash all the posts, especially when I can see exactly when they were posted…but I’ll manage, I’m sure. This is the end of the road, and it’s time to let go.

Thanks for being with me, regardless of whether it was for a week, a month, a year, or more than that. For those who choose to keep following, well, I guess you’ll finally get to see what else has arrested my attention outside of webnovel translation all these years.

And for those who will be leaving after the translations are gone…Thank you for having been here, and goodbye. Hope you all stay strong in these trying times no matter what happens.

-Luka

12:37am, Saturday, 29 January 2022 (UTC+8)

10 thoughts on “[Final update] as a translator. So, I guess this is goodbye.

  1. Thanks for all your work! I’ve been here since almost the beginning and it’s sad to see you go. I haven’t been visiting consistently with every update cause life, but I would still see every update pop up in my email. I hope for the best for you and all your future endeavors!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I knew it was going to be hard to let go when I decided to stop for good, but man, the tears…I’m not exactly crying, it’s just shedding tears. Still, that’s probably proof that I really did love what I was doing.
    It was a dream, a very sweet dream, but now Reality has come far too close for comfort, and now I’m going to wake up from this dream before it turns into a nightmare.
    Of course, I’ll have other dreams (in other words: my other interests), but this is one dream I was hoping I didn’t have to wake up from.

    (Just a few more things I wanted to say but couldn’t fit into the post)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. :(((( I am sad but I understand that You don’t want to see Yoir hard work stolen… I still want to ask for a password for PfoD – it is my favourite cooking novel and I will miss it. I have doubts if it will be officially retransalted to English and if the translation will be any good… Thank You anyway for ypur hard work!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry, I won’t be giving out the password publicly. But as I previously mentioned in [Emergency update], anyone who wants the password can ask through the Contact form.

      Like

  4. Hi, probably the newest follower. I just found your site and joined two days ago so I can’t say I’ve been loyal from the start but in the short time I’ve been on your site I have read through all of your chapters on PFoD and just, Thank you. Thank you! Thank you!

    Thank you for all the hard work you’ve done to translate what you have.
    And thank you for giving a count down before removing your translations.

    Here’s hoping I can speed read through your SWIYBR chapters.
    Best of luck in whatever you set your mind to next.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Been following since the earlier days of PFoD. Had fallen off the update train during the big hiatus wanting to binge read when it was done, but had been much looking forward to it. I fully support you leaving! I would much rather you leave with a bittersweet sense of nostalgia instead of only bad memories of your work being stolen or people bullying you about new chapters. Endings are sad, but I hope you can look back on this time with a lot of fondness too! I won’t bother you about a password. It’s easier on my end to let go from here as well rather than catch up knowing where it ends. I hope to read this in full one day, either in a well translated official form (Seven Seas? Please?) or someone else picking it up and starting over to respect your work while still trying to appeal to passersby. Thank you for the good memories! I wish you only the best in your future endeavors!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi, I’ve been here since a pretty long time. I don’t even remember at this point. Thank you for all the chapters that you did do. I fell in love with these novels & I’m going to miss them.

    All the best for your future & take care! πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’œ

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, oh, oh! I came to see the site like every month and unexpectedly everything is so crazy. I’ve been here since 2018, but I never talk because I’m horribly shy, REALLY shy. Oh, oh, oh, I don’t know what to say, this is like heating milk on the stove, you wash the dishes and when you turn the milk is already spilled. Regardless, I’ll come every month, I don’t know what to do otherwise, hehe.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment