Uncategorized

[Thoughts] as of 31 January 2022, as well as a notice of sorts.

Hello, it’s me, Luka. The one behind this site.
I think most of the people following this site would have known me as the translator of two Chinese webnovels, So What If You’ve Been Reborn (SWIYBR) and Palace Full of Delicacies (PFoD).

Well, I’m no longer a webnovels translator now. I already ended that a while back.

As of today, I have removed all 43 translated chapters of SWIYBR and all 26 translated chapters of PFoD from my site. For the foreseeable future, I do not wish to be involved too deeply in translating Chinese webnovels since JJWXC, one of the larger and more well-known publishers of such webnovels, has made a move. (I spoke about it in a bit more detail in an earlier announcement that began with [Emergency update].) I understand that many readers were hoping I would continue translating, but at the same time, I honestly do not believe I would be able to keep it up after this change.

Previously I locked some of the SWIYBR chapters and all of the PFoD chapters; I had deadlines for the password request and chapter takedown, and some of you might not have been able to finish reading in time. To that, I can only apologise; it was a choice between giving people more time to read and decreasing my risk of getting hit by JJWXC in any way, and I very selfishly chose the latter. Yes, I don’t wish to get in trouble with them. And I’m sorry it had to come at the expense of putting all you readers on a ridiculously short schedule.

Really, I can’t say I don’t care even if people take my translations and post them to JJ international for profits (even if they will be getting a rather pitiful share of the profits anyway), but I’m even more concerned about the possibility of JJWXC hitting me with any kind of copyright claim just because they claimed all the rights to something originally created by me and not them. And I have to protect myself, don’t I? (Ughhhh, that’s one of the things that really didn’t sit well with me when I saw JJWXC’s terms and conditions for translators on JJ international. The rights to the translations. You lose all rights to the translations the moment you submit it to them.)

That’s it, I guess.

I don’t know how this whole JJ international thing will develop, but no matter what happens, I’ll just be right here, putting my time and effort into the other things that I know will be safe from JJWXC.

Novel readers, all the best for you and your beloved novels.

I was wishing I would never have to wake from this dream…But Reality has made its move. Well, then. I’ll just fall into another dream, one that has a much better relationship with Reality.

-Luka

5:18pm, Monday, 31 January 2022 (UTC+8)

One thought on “[Thoughts] as of 31 January 2022, as well as a notice of sorts.

  1. Thank you for sharing the happiness that is PFoD to us Luka-san. If not for you, I don’t think I would’ve known that is exists somewhere in our planet.

    I’m genuinely grateful and wishing you the best in your endeavours! (*ᴗ͈ˬᴗ͈)ꕤ*.゚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment